Jarred Dunn


Friday, February 21, 2025, 7:30 p.m.
Matsqui Centennial Auditorium
32315 South Fraser Way, Abbotsford, BC


Pianist Jarred Dunn won first prize and concerto award at the 7th Lithuanian International Chopin Competition (Vilnius) and is a prize winner of the 1st Jan Hoffman International Competition (Kraków). He won piano and chamber music prizes at the D. Vitti, Verona Zinetti, and Rome Premio International Competitions. He is described by critics as “a piano sound-colour magician” (Muzikos Barai), “performer with exquisite pedalling” (Ludwig van Toronto), and “technically perfect” (Belarus First Radio). His discography includes Chopin and Debussy (AFA 2019), Brahms in Solitude (Yamaha 2022), Chopin's Diary: The Mazurkas (Lexicon 2024) and the complete Górecki piano solo and duo works.

Mr. Dunn performs at Yamaha Performance Centre, Warsaw Chopin Museum, Cavatina Hall, Bordeaux Centre, NOSPR Katowice, Dvorana Hall, Klavierhaus Göttingen, Vilnius Town Hall, Isabel Bader Centre, Owen Arts Center, Chapelle de Bon-Pasteur, NYC Klavierhaus, Juilliard School, etc. He has performed with ATMA Quartet, been collaborative pianist for Brahms Summer Festival (Austria) and is artist-faculty at International Piano and Chamber Music Week (Switzerland). He has performed concertos with Lithuanian Chamber, Vilnius Cantus, Toruń, Budapest Chamber, Belarusian Radio, NOSPR, Toronto Sinfonia, and Niagara Symphonies, among others.

His recordings have been heard on CBC, Classical 96.3FM, WWFM, WQXR, 98.7 WVMO, Belarus First, and Madison Freethought Radio/TV. CBC featured him on This is My Music, Top Thirty Under Thirty, and Five Things I Learned From Maria João-Pires. A celebrated pedagogue featured on Tonebase Piano, he has given master classes and lectures at Juilliard, SMU, Bydgoszcz Academy, Katowice Academy, Royal College of Music (London), Chetham's School (Manchester), and pre-colleges in North America, Europe, and Australia. He teaches at McGill University Schulich School of Music. He studied with Andrei Gavrilov, Maria João-Pires, Katarzyna Popowa-Zydroń, Anna Górecka, Andrzej Jasiński, Dorothy Taubman, Jacob Lateiner and Yoheved Kaplinsky.





Featuring the music of Frederic Chopin

Details pending